New Year’s, Parental Visit, and Back to Work

I’m really enjoying O being a lump. It makes it easy to do things that I know I won’t be able to do once he can express an opinion. Case in point: new year’s eve, where we went to a past-midnight contra dance and he just slept through most of it. He was fine with being strapped to my chest for much of the dancing I did, and just slept through the noise and the spinning, and a couple of people were even willing to hold him while I danced some squares. Leading is probably better than following with him on me, but my right shoulder’s still giving me grief, so I stayed follow most of the time. Also got re-acquainted with a lovely flirtatious young man who I met at dance camp, but is now living in the area. I should probably suss out if this is just dance flirting before I get too enamored.

And then my parents came to visit for a few days. And my mom was very specific and very insistent that this was a visit to help me and see O. So my dad held O while my mom did laundry and I took a nap. We went out for meals, and it was just nice having them here, even though I wasn’t able to keep myself from pushing too hard socially and giving myself a migraine. My mom would just hold O and stare into his face chanting “grandma grandma grandma grandma grandma”, it was pretty hilarious. I don’t remember what my parents were like with my niece when she was born, but then again, that was out of town and I was only thirteen. It’s nice to discover these strange new personae of theirs. I’m coming to DC to visit in February. I thought I was going to travel less once O was born…

I went back to work on Wednesday, for a one day week. I didn’t get much done, but I was able to be about 80% there, which considering how anxious my sleep was the night before was impressive. My computer’s broken, so I was sitting in the office rather than on the floor, and it makes it harder for me to feel connected to everything and productive. I’ve got a plan of action for next week, though, and my co-librarian worked part-time when her kids were born, so she’s very understanding. Hopefully I’ll be able to build up the energy and productivity, even though things aren’t going to be very consistent in January, with the holidays and Midwinter.

I can’t wait for Midwinter. I feel like I haven’t been able to really get started on BFYA stuff because of a lack of books. I want to meet the other members of the committee, I want boxes of ARCs to start showing up at my door, I want to see if I can maintain a good schedule for this (MTW: BLS, Th: errands, FS: BFYA, Su: get ready for the week). The lack of reading I’ve done since O was born has started to concern me, but I hope to get back up to speed soon.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s, Parental Visit, and Back to Work

  1. One thing I’m discovering with my niece is that grandchildren make parents very silly people. 🙂 I’m glad you and Overton are doing so well! I’ll be in Dallas too so call me and we can meet up somewhere!

Leave a Reply

